Our Role

The role of Council is outlined in the Municipal Act 2001, section 224:

It is the role of Council,
to represent the public and to consider the well-being and interests of the municipality;
to develop and evaluate the policies and programs of the municipality;
to determine which services the municipality provides;
to ensure that administrative policies, practices and procedures and controllership policies, practices and procedures are in place to implement the decisions of Council;
to ensure the accountability and transparency of the operations of the municipality, including the activities of the senior management of the municipality;
to maintain the financial integrity of the municipality; and
to carry out the duties of council under this or any other Act.

The Mayor and Councillors are governors of the Township. They make decisions at public meetings as a group that provides direction and oversight to staff through the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO), who is the manager of the corporation. While the Mayor has additional duties under the Municipal Act, providing leadership, and acts as the Chair of Council meetings, like Councillors only has one vote. Staff are responsible for the day-to-day operations which are based on policies and procedures as adopted by Council.

Members of Council are appointed to various Committees and Boards in the Township. Councillors liaise with community members on a regular basis. Feel free to reach out to your Councillors any time. The Civicweb Portal provides additional information on Council and their Committees.

Special Event Invitations

To invite the Mayor and Council to your function or event, or to request a certificate of recognizing a special occasion, please contact the Deputy Clerk.  See below for contact information.

Meet Your Council

Email: Mayor LoveKim Love - Mayor
T 613-639-4557


  • Committee of Adjustment
  • Council in Committee
  • Chair of Finance and Administration
  • Chair of Planning Matters
  • Joint Municipal Physician Recruitment and Retention Committee

Email: Councillor Carl BromwichCarl Bromwich, Councillor
T 613.756.2766


  • Committee of Adjustment
  • Council in Committee
  • Chair of Operations-Waste Management and Roads
  • Communities in Bloom Committee
  • Lakeshore Tennis Committee
  • Zurakowski Park Committee

Email: Councillor Ernie PeplinskiErnie Peplinski, Councillor
T 613-756-7163


  • Committee of Adjustment
  • Council in Committee
  • Chair of Fire, Protection and Emergency Managment
  • Combermere and Area Recreation Committee
  • Community Policing Advisory Committee (CPAC)

Email: Councillor David ShulistDavid Shulist, Councillor
T 613-756-1743


  • Committee of Adjustment
  • Council in Committee
  • Chair of Operations- Water/Wastewater and Facilities
  • Twinning Committee
  • Mission House Museum Committee

Email: Councillor Mark Willmer

T 613-756-6512
T 613-585-9433


  • Committee of Adjustment
  • Council in Committee
  • Chair of Recreation and Community Development Committee
  • Barry’s Bay Business Improvement Association (BIA)
  • Madawaska Valley Public Library Board

Contact Us

Gwen Dombroski
Deputy Clerk
Address: 85 Bay Street, PO Box 1000, Barry’s Bay, ON, K0J 1B0
Phone: 613.756.2747